



Gordon D. Schif, MD — Individual Achievement

HCA Healthcare — Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level

WellSpan Health — Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level

"The Eisenberg Awards were created to honor Dr. Eisenberg's enduring legacy. Moreover, by showcasing innovative and sustainable solutions to some of health care's greatest challenges, these awards further the mission of improving patient safety and quality of care. Congratulations to Dr. Gordon D. Schif, HCA Healthcare, and WellSpan Health for being the winners of the 2019 Eisenberg Awards. Their tireless ef orts



Dr. Eisenberg's legacy

An impassioned advocate for health care quality improvement, John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, was a founding member of NQF's board of directors and the former AHRQ administrator (1997-2002). Dr. Eisenberg was a leader in health care quality, and he dedicated his life to ensuring care was based on a strong foundation of research and that it considered the patient's needs and perspectives.

"I believe his lasting impact goes far beyond his extraordinary body of work. I believe his real legacy is the colleagues who he mentored over the years and the impact those relationships have had as his former mentees become mentors themselves and pass on John's wisdom. His love of the challenge of improving care, ef orts to ensure that no one is left behind, and joy in pursuing his passion were infectious. Seeing that passed on to others is his true enduring legacy."





WellSpan Health was selected as the winner at the Local Level for its system-wide approach demonstrating an innovative combination of technology and trained medical staf to save lives and engage in early sepsis intervention.

WellSpan Health implemented a remote registered nurse specialty-trained telemonitoring "bunker" as a more ef cient and adaptable/replicable care model, providing real-time surveillance for early sepsis identification in patients in most inpatient settings, emergency departments, emergency department waiting rooms and holding areas. This care process model provides continued clinical support for



Gregg S. Meyer, MD, MSc, Partners HealthCare — Chair Marc Bennett, HealthInsight

Carolyn Clancy, MD, Department of Veterans Af airs

Mary Grealy, Healthcare Leadership Council

Lisa Patton, PhD, IBM Watson Health





The Joint Commission

Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent,

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

Individual Achievement

Brent C. James, MD

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the National Level

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level

Individual Achievement

Thomas H. Gallagher, MD

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local LifePoint Health's National Quality Forum (Brentwood, TN)

Individual Achievement

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality -National

I-PASS Study Group

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local Christiana Care Health System (Newark, DE)

Individual Achievement

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Premier. Inc.

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local Mayo Clinic Rochester

Individual Achievement

Mark L. Graber, MD, FACP

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality -National

American College of Surgeons

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local

Northshore-LIJ Health System

Individual Achievement

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-

Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Anthem Blue Cross

National Health Foundation

Hospital Association of San Diego & Imperial

Hospital Council of Northern & Central

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local

Individual Achievement

Saul N. Weingart, MD, PhD

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Kaiser Permanente

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Memorial Hermann Healthcare System

Individual Achievement

Kenneth I. Shine, MD

Honorary Lifetime Achievement

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local

Henry Ford Health System

New York Presbyterian Hospital

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-

National

The Society of Hospital Medicine

Individual Achievement

James L. Reinertsen, MD

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local

Newborn Intensive Care Unit, Anchorage, AK

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Individual Achievement

Research

Individual Achievement - International

Dr. Noreen Zafar, MD

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality - Local

Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality-National

Individual Achievement

Michael S. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD
Institute for Safe Medication Practices Research
Research

